7 Comments

  1. mwj
    April 6, 2012 @ 9:12 am

    thought your review was great, and captured the excitement of gig going which is a good thing.

    Reply

  2. Steve Rastin
    April 6, 2012 @ 9:13 am

    Excellent review, if a bit harsh on SIN, who I think will develope and mature in time.

    The running order tends to be dictated by issues such as kit shares – last night one band wanted to use their own kit exclusively, while the other two kit-shared – so the advance billing is random rather than something that is going to be religiously adhered to.

    Your observations on 4 Sticks are absolutely on the mark though, I’ve had the pleasure of putting them on in different venues on 7 or 8 occasions now and they just seem to improve each time I see them.

    There was a Top 10 Local Gigs posting elsewhere on this forum recently – 4 Sticks @ Bar Blu, Rhyl, 1/10/07 will be added to that listing by everyone who was privileged enough to see that performance last night.

    Reply

  3. It Bleeds
    April 6, 2012 @ 9:13 am

    right,

    in all fairness, Safety In Numbers were rather good.

    the 4 Sticks however, are arrogant twats to be blunt.

    For example, upon entering the room at a recent gig, one of them shouts “Move over lads, the big boys are here now”

    I was at this gig obviously, and after the 4Sticks’ hissy fit over not headlining, were the only band who actually had abuse, while Safety In Numbers got the crowd going as well as you’d expect with a wall of death, and several mosh pits, and the loudest sing alongs of the night.

    Yes they made one or two mistakes, but no one is perfect all of the time are they?

    Reply

  4. Craig Digisound
    April 6, 2012 @ 9:14 am

    Four sticks are great lads and definately not arrogant ,

    Four sticks should have headlined though in my opinion..

    Good review its nice to hear some words from other people.

    Reply

  5. Scot
    April 6, 2012 @ 9:15 am

    Wow, I really didn’t expect my first review to be so well received, so thanks to everyone who’s taken the time to read it.
    I’m thinking of including the responses I’ve had as part of my essay, I think it’s a good example of internet based ‘free speach’ but I think I probably need to clarify a few points and apologise for my obvious lack of research on local venue policies regarding the running order/billing.
    Sorry ‘Blood and lipstick’ I just assumed that you decided the running order, my mistake, though as I’d originally attended the gig in the hope of catching ‘Harlot Farm’ who were clearly billed as the Headline act I think my initial assumption regarding the 4 Sticks slot was probably shared by the majority of the crowd but obviously not by ‘itbleeds’. I was unaware of any kit sharing politics so it would appear the ‘The 4 Sticks’ obviously elected to go on earlier, again I apologise for my mistake.
    I must also apologise if I caused any distress to the lads in Safety in Numbers (or itbleeds if that’s what they’d prefer to be known as on this forum) as I’d never heard of them before monday night but I’d also never heard of Un-Aimed but it didn’t stop me enjoying their set.
    When we found out Harlot Farm had pulled out I just thought ‘oh well at least I’ve heard of the 4 Sticks so I might as well go upstairs and have a listen. If I’d have spent a little time doing some research on this site I would have come across SIN in the reviews section as there’s an old review of a gig @ billys. It would appear that my views of Safety In Numbers (and ironically, The 4Sticks) seem to echo those of Neil Crud, I also prefer to hear a bands own original music rather than badly played covers but each to their own, I’m always willing to pay to get into local gigs, I even (usually) buy a CD or at least have a look at their myspace page and on the whole I think there’s a few really good bands around here, I’m a confirmed ‘punk a like’ my own personal faves are ‘Global Parasite’ (check them out if you get the chance) Der Bomber are excellent as are HomeSpun and Gintis, have you seen RAD yet ? they’re also well worth checking out, Skunkfish, luciene, the list could go on, they’re all worthy of support and they all play their own stuff. Having attempted to get a band going myself not so long ago I think I have a fairly good insight into how hard it is to make it work and to stick at it so I admire any band that attempts do their own thing but Safety In numbers (or Safety In Covers) don’t really count, that may seem unfair but like I said in my media essay, we pays the money and I think that gives us the right to have an opinion.
    Blood and lipstick hopes that SIN will progress as they mature, obviously there’s a long way to go yet judging by their response to my review, I don’t really get it but it’s certainly not creative writing, I’m sure there’s a place for that kind of ‘red faced’ hands on hips, finger wagging behaviour but the last time I was there I wore short pants and always had a good kip after playtime so although I apologise for any distress caused by my comments I think I’m justified in standing by my review.
    scot.
    ps. How great is this link2wales site eh ? it’s a fantastic data base. Respect to all those involved.

    Reply

  6. Safety in Numbers
    April 6, 2012 @ 9:17 am

    ok…. before I comment properly,

    it bleeds is NOT sIn.

    No problem on your opinions… although they are actually rather harsh… but you’re just one person, not much difference to us rly.
    The majority of the crowd seemed to like us.
    Now, the lack of original material is due to a guitar player problem, which resulted in us having to get a new guitarist, and as we wrote all of our material with him, we felt it was unfair to keep playing it without him.

    And the other part about it being almost saddening I think you said?
    Again, the majority of people there seemed to enjoy us, but yet again, it’s all your own opinion.

    Please don’t go accusing us of these things in all, it makes us look like tits rly.
    We’re actually nice people 🙂

    Reply

  7. Andy Fatman
    April 6, 2012 @ 9:18 am

    Scot, a great review…..
    …remember , one mans memory, is another mans trip to the bar……
    For any one person, willing to put “digit to key”, there’s 10 willing to deride ya…….
    People may share your excitement, most will not…..
    A Fatman review, these days, is a rare thing!
    See you at the bar!

    Reply

Leave a Reply